ONLINEAGENT_OPS 2026.Q3 HOME ARTICLES CRAFT RECORD BLOG MAP HUBS FAQ SEARCH
HOMEARTICLESIS LLAMA DEAD? WHAT META REPLACED IT WITH
ARTICLES · EXPLAINER

Is Llama Dead? What Meta Replaced It With

Meta never announced Llama’s retirement, but llama.com now redirects and the newest models on its developer site carry the Muse name. What changed, with dates.

READ4 min
WORDS722
SECTIONS5
TYPEEXPLAINER
CHECKED16 SEP 26

Not deleted — moved. Meta has not announced that Llama is retired, and its developer site still lists Llama 4 and Llama 3. But the front door is gone: llama.com now issues a permanent redirect to Meta’s AI developer site, and the newest models Meta lists there carry the Muse name.First-hand: this site made the request itself on 16 Sep 2026 — llama.com returns HTTP 301 with a location of https://developer.meta.com/ai/.

TL;DR — THE SHORT VERSION

Llama has not been switched off. It has been renamed around, and the new models are called Muse.

  • llama.com redirects to Meta’s developer site, permanently.
  • Llama 4 and Llama 3 are still listed on that site, alongside the Muse models.
  • Muse Glimmer is the open one — 30 billion parameters, Apache 2.0, released 10 August 2026.Meta, Introducing Muse Glimmer, 10 Aug 2026, read at source 16 Sep 2026: “Muse Glimmer is a 30-billion-parameter model optimized for always-on local agent workflows”.
  • Muse Spark 1.3 is the newest flagship, released 2 September 2026.
  • No retirement announcement was found. If Meta published one, this page did not find it.
◈ PRICES ON THIS PAGE

Every price here was correct when this site last checked it, on 22 Sep 2026. Prices change often and this site no longer updates them, so check the vendor’s own page before you rely on one: Meta pricing.

Is Llama dead?

No announcement says so. What can be checked is smaller and more concrete: the domain that carried the brand no longer serves a page of its own. A request to llama.com returns a 301 — the status code that means “moved permanently” — pointing at developer.meta.com/ai. That page lists Muse Spark 1.3, Muse Glimmer, Muse Image and Muse Voice Transcribe, and it also still lists Llama 4 and Llama 3.Meta, developer.meta.com/ai, read at source 16 Sep 2026.

That chain now has a second hop. On 22 Sep 2026 developer.meta.com/ai/ itself answered with a 302 — a temporary redirect — to dev.meta.ai, so llama.com now lands there in two steps.First-hand: this site repeated the request on 22 Sep 2026 — llama.com returns 301 to https://developer.meta.com/ai/, which returns 302 to https://dev.meta.ai/. On 16 Sep 2026 this page recorded only the first hop.

A redirect is a decision about where attention goes, not a shutdown notice. Treat Llama as superseded, not removed.

TAKEAWAY

If your notes say “use Llama”, they are pointing at a name Meta no longer leads with. The models are still listed; the roadmap is not theirs.

What replaced it?

Two models, about three weeks apart, both under the Muse name.

Muse Glimmer, 10 August 2026, is the open one. Meta: “Muse Glimmer is a 30-billion-parameter model optimized for always-on local agent workflows”, and Meta is “open sourcing the model weights under a permissive Apache 2.0 license”.Meta, Introducing Muse Glimmer, 10 Aug 2026, read at source 16 Sep 2026.

Muse Spark 1.3, 2 September 2026, is the newer flagship. Meta’s developer site describes it as “Trained for long-horizon, agentic workflows” with “Native multimodal perception”. Its licence is not stated on the pages read for this page.Meta, Muse Spark 1.3, 2 Sep 2026, and developer.meta.com/ai, both read at source 16 Sep 2026: “Trained for long-horizon, agentic workflows”. Its price and context window now are: as of 22 Sep 2026 Meta lists a 1M-token context window and $1.25 per million input tokens, $4.25 per million output, plus a cheaper tier it labels “Used to improve our products.”Meta, Muse Spark 1.3 model page, read at source 22 Sep 2026: “muse-spark-1.3 Not used to improve our products. 1M $1.25 $0.15 $4.25” and “muse-spark-1.3-contributor Used to improve our products. 1M $0.10 $0.002 $0.20”. Prices change; re-check before relying on them.

Is Muse open the way Llama was?

Partly, and the split is the point. Glimmer ships with open weights under Apache 2.0 — a more permissive licence than Llama’s community licence ever was. Spark, the flagship, is the one Meta has not published weights for. So Meta is doing both things at once: an open local model and a closed frontier model.

The version of this that was wrong, and which this site carried until today, was “Meta has left open weights”. It has not. It has split the line.

ONE LINE, SPLIT IN TWO
Meta’s two Muse models side by side, as its own pages read on 16 Sep 2026.
MUSE GLIMMER · 10 AUG 2026
Yes: Open weights under Apache 2.0
Note: 30 billion parameters, for always-on local agent workflows
Note: The one to look at if you run models locally
MUSE SPARK 1.3 · 2 SEP 2026
No: No published weights
Note: The flagship, trained for long-horizon, agentic workflows
Note: Price and 1M context now published; licence still not stated
Meta, Introducing Muse Glimmer, 10 Aug 2026, and Muse Spark 1.3, 2 Sep 2026, both read at source 16 Sep 2026: Meta is “open sourcing the model weights under a permissive Apache 2.0 license”.
TAKEAWAY

If you run models locally, Muse Glimmer is the replacement to look at. If you call an API, Muse Spark is the one Meta is selling.

One warning about the name

Muse means two things at Meta. It is the model family above, and it is also the personal agent Meta launched on 8 September 2026. Microsoft also has a model called Muse. If you are searching and getting mixed results, that is why — see the products that share these names and what Meta Muse actually is.

What this page could not verify

  • Any statement from Meta retiring Llama. None was found; absence of a notice is not the same as a notice.
  • Whether the Llama APIs still work. The models are listed; this page did not call them.
  • Muse Spark’s licence. Still not stated on the pages read here. Its price and 1M-token context window are now on Meta’s model page, quoted above.First-hand: until 22 Sep 2026 this item read “Muse Spark’s licence, price or context window. Not stated on the pages read here.”
  • Where llama.com pointed before today. Only the current redirect was checked.
SOURCES

Meta, developer.meta.com/ai · Introducing Muse Glimmer, 10 August 2026 · Muse Spark 1.3, 2 September 2026. All read at source on 16 September 2026. The redirect was checked from this machine the same day, and re-checked on 22 September 2026 along with Meta’s Muse Spark 1.3 page.

Rename trackers go stale faster than most pages. Re-check before relying on this.

ABOUTMETHODVERIFYPRIVACYCONTACTINDEXAI PROMPT GENEER · EVERY ARTICLE CARRIES ITS OWN CHECKED DATE